Entire Section

  • Audit Committee

    • 3.21

      Every listed issuer must establish an audit committee comprising non-executive directors only. The audit committee must comprise a minimum of three members, at least one of whom is an independent non-executive director with appropriate professional qualifications or accounting or related financial management expertise as required under rule 3.10(2). The majority of the audit committee members must be independent non-executive directors of the listed issuer. The audit committee must be chaired by an independent non-executive director.

      Notes: 1. [Repealed 1 October 2020]
        2. For further guidance on establishing an audit committee, listed issuers may refer to "A Guide for Effective Audit Committees" published by the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (formerly known as the Hong Kong Society of Accountants) in February 2002. Listed issuers may adopt the terms of reference set out in that guide, or they may adopt any other comparable terms of reference for the establishment of an audit committee.
        3. Please see also the note to rule 3.10(2).

    • 3.22

      The board of directors of the listed issuer must approve and provide written terms of reference for the audit committee which clearly establish the committee's authority and duties.

    • 3.23

      A listed issuer shall immediately inform the Exchange and publish an announcement in accordance with rule 2.07C containing the relevant details and reasons if the listed issuer fails to set up an audit committee or at any time has failed to meet any of the other requirements set out in rule 3.21 regarding the audit committee. Listed issuers shall set up an audit committee and/or appoint appropriate members to the audit committee to meet the requirement(s) within three months after failing to meet such requirement(s).

    • 3.24 [Repealed]

      [Repealed 1 January 2009]